E3 2019

I’ll tell you right now, this is going to be short. I didn’t keep up with hardly any of the coverage of E3, there was a single game that got me to watch anything but we’ll get into that later. As for why I didn’t catch it this year that can be attributed to a few things: 1)I didn’t expect there to be many good reveals this year. 2)I’ve been a Sony fan since my parents got us the original PlayStation years ago, obviously they weren’t going to attend so I again didn’t feel like I was going to miss anything. 3)Just being unaware, every year around June I know that E3 is coming up but, between kids and other summer stuff, I always end up missing it or catching it halfway through. I won’t give anymore excuses and get into what I’m looking forward to!

OUTRIDERS: This one I didn’t even know about until after E3 had ended but it looks interesting. I’m not entirely sold (I’ve not finished researching my interests from E3 yet) as what I’ve seen hasn’t been enough to win over my adoration completely but it has promise. It looks like Destiny, Metro and Mad Max got together and Outriders was the resultant love child. You go around an apocalyptic landscape in a 3 person team (though this might have been added simply to emphasize multiplayer, not sure yet) and fight things. Some will be bad regular doods and others will be towering monstrosities that look like they came from Stranger Things. Will have to watch this one as it develops.

BORDERLANDS 3: For some reason I felt like this had been revealed before E3? Not sure why I felt that way but it seems like I’ve known about this one for awhile, probably because I’ve been looking forward to it since the pre-sequel. I’ve loved every Borderlands game that has come out, though I didn’t enjoy the Pre-Sequel as much as I feel I should have. Borderlands 2 is great though I have a hard time slogging through the beginning areas, it feels like a too-long tutorial to a game that isn’t that hard to pick up. Anyway, disregarding my nitpicking of previous installations in the franchise, I’m really looking forward to this one and getting to see all my favorite characters again: Moxie, Tiny Tina (OLDER!), Torgue, Claptrap and basically anyone that’s been in a Borderlands game since the beginning. This one is going to be good.

STAR WARS JEDI: FALLEN ORDER: Another one I’m not sure about. Call me nostalgic and clinging to the past but I don’t entirely like what Disney has done with the Star Wars universe. That being said I can’t back my opinions up because I certainly couldn’t do any better and I have no idea what it is about the new movies I don’t like so just disregard my useless writing. This one does look interesting and I’m hoping that it will end up being a good Star Wars game, we’ve not had a good singleplayer Star Wars game in a very long time. I’ll watch this one and look forward to watching some Let’s Plays after it’s been released to finalize my verdict.

BALDUR’S GATE 3: This one! This is the game that got me interested enough in E3 this year to think we will have some great upcoming games. Since I got Pillars of Eternity several years ago I’ve been addicted to these style games. Even better it’s being done by Larian Studios who is behind the fantastic Divinity Original Sin 2, I’m greatly looking forward to this game and may pre-order barring any issues that may raise red flags as the game develops. I’ve been a fan of Drizzt Do’Urden since my youth and am really looking forward to possibly exploring the Underdark and seeing some great Mind Flayer action!

CYBERPUNK 2077: I’ve had an interest in this one since it was announced as CDPR next big game after the Witcher. This one we’ve been aware of for awhile before E3 this year so I wasn’t terribly surprised that they had something to show though I wish it had been…..more? We’ve had trailers and we’ve seen gameplay, I guess there isn’t a whole lot more that they can show us without giving a ton more away and I’m not really sure what I expected. I greatly enjoyed what was shown and still look forward to the game, it was a nice touch that they’ve got Keanu Reeves in it as well.

So there it is, my short and possibly dismal list of what I’m looking forward to from E3 this year. You probably have more and may not be looking forward to any of these, that’s the beauty of entertainment! Let me know what you all thought of E3 this year.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑